Directors and Chairs

The appointment of the Director of the IOPC Funds is governed by Articles 16 and 18 of the 1992 Fund Convention, Rule 54 of the 1992 Fund Rules of Procedure and Resolution No9, adopted by the 1992 Fund Assembly in October 2011. From 2006 Directors were appointed for a maximum of two terms. Since 2011 IOPC Fund Directors are appointed for an initial term of five years and may be re-appointed for a second term of five years by a vote pursuant to Articles 32 and 33(b) of the 1992 Fund Convention. Since 1978 the IOPC Funds has had four Directors. The Chairs of the governing bodies are elected by Member States. Lists of Chairs having served on any of the governing bodies since 1978 are also available (see right).

Directors of the IOPC Funds

Mr Gaute Sivertsen, Norway

Director of the 1992 and Supplementary Funds (since 2022)

Mr José Maura, Spain

Director of the 1971 Fund (2011-2014), and of the 1992 and Supplementary Funds 2011-2021

Mr Willem Oosterveen, Netherlands

Director of the 1971, 1992 and Supplementary Funds 2006-2011

Mr Måns Jacobsson, Sweden

Director of the 1971, 1992 and Supplementary Funds, 1985-2006

Dr. Reinhard Ganten, Germany

Director of the 1971 Fund, 1978-1984