In accordance with the relevant Rules of Procedure, the election of Chairs and Vice-Chairs takes place annually at the regular autumn sessions of the 1992 Fund Assembly, Supplementary Fund Assembly and 1992 Fund Executive Committee. Whereas the terms of office of the Chairs of the Assemblies and the Administrative Councils are not subject to a limited time, the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Executive Committee are limited to a maximum term of two years.

With regard to intersessional working groups, the Chair is usually agreed upon by the Assembly immediately following its decision to establish such a group and the Chair remains in that position until the Group finalises its work.

1992 Fund Assembly

  • Gaute Sivertsen (Norway)
    Gaute Sivertsen (Norway)

    Chair of the 1992 Fund Assembly since October 2011 and former Chair of the 1992 Fund Executive Committee (2000-2002), Mr Sivertsen has been Head of the Norwegian Delegation to the IOPC Fund meetings since 1993. He has a Law-degree from University of Oslo and has worked with shipping and legal issues both in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and in the Ministry of Trade and Industry, where he is currently Deputy Director General of the Maritime Department, responsible for the overall coordination of IOPC Fund and IMO issues, maritime safety, legal and security affairs.

  • Tomotaka Fujita (Japan)
    Tomotaka Fujita (Japan)
    First Vice-Chair
  • Samuel Roger Minkeng (Cameroon)
    Samuel Roger Minkeng (Cameroon)
    Second Vice-Chair

1992 Fund Executive Committee

  • Ambassador Antonio Bandini (Italy)
    Ambassador Antonio Bandini (Italy)

    Chair of the 1992 Fund Executive Committee since October 2017, Ambassador Bandini has participated in IOPC Funds meetings since October 2013. A former Navy Lieutenant with a degree in law and a postgraduate diploma in diplomatic studies, he held many postings during his time with the Foreign service and has also held many senior positions in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and as representative of Italy to various UN bodies and at the OECD in Paris. Ambassador Bandini was the coordinator for Maritime Affairs and for Implementation of IMO Conventions at the Ministry and is currently coordinator of the Inter-Ministerial Commission for IOPC Funds, in the Prime Minister’s Office.

  • Captain K.P. Jayakumar (India)
    Captain K.P. Jayakumar (India)

Supplementary Fund Assembly

  • Sung-Bum Kim (Republic of Korea)
    Sung-Bum Kim (Republic of Korea)

    Chair of the Supplementary Fund Assembly since October 2011 and member of the delegation of the Republic of Korea since October 2010. Mr Kim, Director of the Seafarers and Labour Policies Division of the Ministry of Land, Transport and Maritime Affairs (MLTM) has been working for the Korean Government since 1994, and joined the Hebei Spirit Task Force in 2010. He has a Master’s Degree in Marine Affairs and has also worked for the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) as a Senior Policy Analyst in marine and fisheries issues.

  • Andrew Angel (United Kingdom)
    Andrew Angel (United Kingdom)
    First Vice-Chair
  • Emre Dinçer (Turkey)
    Emre Dinçer (Turkey)
    Second Vice-Chair