Denmark ratifies the 2010 HNS Protocol

Posted: 05/07/2018
Categories: News – Policy

Denmark has become the fourth State to ratify the 2010 HNS Protocol. They join Canada, Norway and Turkey, who have also deposited instruments of ratification to the Protocol and who are leading the way towards entry into force of the 2010 HNS Convention.
Amongst the criteria for the Convention’s entry into force, at least 12 States are required to ratify the Protocol, four of which must each have a merchant shipping fleet of no less than 2 million units of gross tonnage. As a result of this latest ratification, the Protocol now has one third of the number of States required for its entry into force and Canada, Denmark, Norway and Turkey each have more than 2 million units of gross tonnage, so this particular requirement is now met.
The IOPC Funds are delighted that Denmark has brought this important Convention one step closer to entering into force. A number of other States have reported significant progress towards ratification in recent months and the organisation is therefore very hopeful that further instruments will be deposited in the near future.
The IOPC Funds have been given the role of carrying out the tasks necessary to set up the International Hazardous and Noxious Substances Fund (HNS Fund) and making preparations for the first session of the HNS Assembly. The 1992 Fund Secretariat also remains available to work with the International Maritime Organization and support States in their efforts to prepare for ratification or accession to the HNS Convention as well as industry stakeholders on technical issues. For further information please visit

← Previous article→ Next article