Special session and brochure to commemorate the 1971 Fund

Posted: 17/04/2015
Categories: News – Policy

On Friday 17 April 2015, the Secretary General of IMO held the final meeting of former Member States of the 1971 Fund to review and approve the Financial Statements for 2014, following the dissolution of the 1971 Fund on 31 December 2014.
Following that meeting, a special session was held to commemorate the 1971 Fund, with a number of key figures taking the opportunity to look at the establishment and operation of the 1971 Fund over its 36-year existence.
Former Assistant Secretary-General and Head of Legal Affairs and External Relations Division of IMO, Dr Rosalie Balkin, gave an IMO perspective on the international compensation regime. Dr Reinhard Ganten, the very first Director of the IOPC Fund, spoke of the origins of the regime and of the initial setting up of the organisation. Mr Måns Jacobsson, former Director of the Funds, discussed the development of Fund’s policy over the years and Dr Karen Purnell, ITOPF Managing Director, spoke of the role of experts working with the IOPC Fund in the early days. Mr Alfred Popp QC, Administrator of the Ship Source Oil Pollution Fund in Canada, referred to the role of Member States, offering a delegate’s perspective and the session was closed by Captain David Bruce, the last Chairman of the 1971 Fund Administrative Council. The event was followed by a lunchtime reception.
A commemorative brochure was distributed to all delegates and has been made available to download under the publications section.

← Previous article→ Next article