Nauru to become the 118th Member State of the 1992 Fund

Posted: 29/04/2020
Categories: News – Policy

The International Maritime Organization (IMO) has informed the Director of the IOPC Funds that the Republic of Nauru deposited instruments of accession to the 1992 Civil Liability and Fund Conventions on 23 March 2020.  Both Conventions will enter into force for Nauru on 23 March 2021, bringing the number of 1992 Fund Member States to 118 on that date. 

The Director, José Maura, has expressed how pleased he is that Nauru has decided to join the 1992 Fund and relieved to know that in the event of a major tanker incident polluting the island’s coastline, the 1992 Fund will now be able to provide compensation to those affected under the international liability and compensation regime. 

On the same day,Nauru also acceded to a number of other IMO Conventions covering liability and compensation for damage caused by ships and the prevention of marine pollution, including the:  

  • Protocol of 1996 to amend the Convention on Limitation of Liability for Maritime Claims, 1976 (LLMC PROT 1996);  
  • International Convention on Civil Liability for Bunker Oil Pollution Damage, 2001 (BUNKERS 2001);  
  • International Convention for the Control and Management of Ships’ Ballast Water and Sediments, 2004 (BWM 2004); and  
  • Nairobi International Convention on the Removal of Wrecks, 2007 (NAIROBI WRC 2007). 

For a full list of the IOPC Funds membership and a map displaying the coverage of the international liability and compensation regime in general, please visit the Membership section.  

← Previous article→ Next article